Drew Peterson, pianist
Josephine Baker
John Edward Hasse, guest curator
Felix Conteras, conga
Ellington Carthan, pianist and narrator
Jeffrey Mumford, guest curator
Annie Jacobs-Perkins, cello
Katerina Burton, soprano
Robin De Jesús, actor
David Strathairn, actor
Kevork Mourad, artist
Derek Goldman, playwright/director
José Sacín, bass baritone (Don Quihote)
Israel Lozano, tenor (Master Peter)
Jennifer Zetlan, soprano (Trujaman)
Ricardo Marlow, Flamenco guitar
Philip Kennicott, guest curator
Hany Hassan FAIA, visuals

L'Histoire du Soldat and Berlin Suite 1920:

Two Tales for Today

In the wake of World War I, Igor Stravinsky was living in Switzerland, cut off from his family estate in Russia. He was receiving no royalties from his publisher in Berlin. Stage performances of his music by Diaghilev’s Ballet Russe were very infrequent. His concert works were virtually dormant. With the Swiss writer C. F. Ramuz, he conceived a small, portable entertainment, requiring neither a large theater nor a large orchestra, in fact suitable for outdoor performance. They imagined a small touring company of players – as an aspiration that proved impractical. But the work itself has vigorously survived.

The pertinence of A Soldier’s Tale today is self-evident. It is a COVID entertainment: compact, flexible, rejecting Romantic symphonic upholstery in favor of a dry, caustic sonority conducive to bitter entertainments, light-hearted yet not evasive.

PostClassical Ensemble is joined by award-winning actor Edward Gero, in a striking new imagining of the Stravinsky classic with a new moral: #SAVETHEARTS


July 9, 2021 at 7:30pm
Performance is 1h 10 min without intermission


Live! at 10th & G

945 G Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001

Parking: Access to the garage is located behind the building on 980 G Place, N.W.  Parking is $10 flat fee. Use the Office elevator to access the lobby of the First Congregational United Church of Christ.


Edward Gero, actor

David Jones, clarinet

Joseph Horowitz, librettist/producer

PostClassical Ensemble conducted by Angel Gil-Ordóñez

Igor Stravinsky:  Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet

Igor Stravinsky: A Soldier’s Tale

With a new libretto by Joseph Horowitz

Daniel Schnyder: Berlin Suite 1920

Tickets: $45 per person

For health and safety, attendance is limited to 250 people. Per DC and venue guidelines, face masks are required inside the building.

Your Health and Safety Is A Priority

In an effort to keep attendees and performers healthy and safe, PostClassical Ensemble (PCE) is following COVID-19 Safety Plan and Protocols, in accordance with recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA):

  • If you are feeling unwell on the day of the performance or leading up to the performance, please email us at info@postclassical.com and we will happily refund your ticket and wish you a speedy recovery.
  • We request that all ticket buyers wear a mask inside the building and practice social distancing in all general public areas.
  • CDC recommends frequent hand washing with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, and use of hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available.
  • PCE will adhere to applicable federal, state, local, and venue guidelines on capacity limits.
No items found.
Hear a sample
What people are saying

So many thanks for that most inspiring, capacious evening. With PCE’s usual ability to surprise and delight… that symphony was astonishing…


Your leadership and dramatic shaping of the Symphony last night was truly masterful - and so inspiring. I know I’ll never forget this experience. Thank you, Maestro!


I loved the intimacy of the ensemble and the aching beauty of the melody repeating and recurring and turning up where I did not expect it .  And I found the quality of the sound thrilling.

That was my take on the concert --that and the tears that it brought to my eyes, simply to be there, to be present at the creation of something so beautiful..


What a perfect PCE evening, wonderful concert and lovely gathering


Angel, You are so musical! I've played the 4th twice, it was the first Mahler I heard as a kid, and I'm invariably disappointed that conductors don't let it breathe.  U nailed it.


Congratulations again to you and your superb ensemble on a wonderful and provocative performance in the Terrace Theater last evening.  As always, we learned something from this concert and it was fun, too.


Everything about it was sheer delight, including the lively and interesting talk at the end…